Face of Innocence

His cheeks glow like the Moon reflecting off Sun’s light

Creamy as caramel with little dents as his smiles or cries

His fingers so tender, so hard is the urge not to bite

But mesmerizing most of all is his curiosity and blind faith

Was I once like this?

A baby he is of a father that raped

Those days I remember, every Saturday by the lake

Mid-noon and deserted, it went on for so long

A memory that decades can’t erase

The babe resembles so his father and I take him to my room

But his smile with a little tongue so pink so pink

Disintegrates all in its face and love gushes

Little pleasures like a drop of honey or a touch of perfume

Cracks him up so loud the whole house glows in warmth

He wails loud of a distress unknown, a clap a caw a meow and whoosh its all gone

He watches with wonder pure every article about, what better audience can one ask?

Time with him measures a different pace almost like a healing ex-perience

So beautiful a creation, God I bow down to you


He calls out “Nuuuu! Nuuuu!” standing by the gate

My heart cries out “Oh sweetness I’m here!”

Leave a comment